How are process groups and knowledge areas used in project management?

How are process groups and knowledge areas used in project management?

Each Knowledge Area is made up of a set of processes, each with inputs, tools and techniques, and outputs. That is, the Process Groups band together the project management activities that are relevant to each project phase and provide a means for looking at best practices within one Knowledge Area at a time.

What is process groups and knowledge areas in Pmbok?

Project Management Knowledge Areas cover what a project manager needs to know in order to successfully manage a project. Processes cover what a project manager and team have to do to deliver a project successfully. Process Groups are logical groupings of processes.

What are the 5 process groups?

There are 5 phases to the project life cycle (also called the 5 process groups)—initiating, planning, executing, monitoring/controlling, and closing.

What are the 5 knowledge areas of project management?

What are the project management knowledge areas?

  • Project integration management.
  • Project scope management.
  • Project time management.
  • Project cost management.
  • Project quality management.
  • Project resource management.
  • Project communications management.
  • Project risk management.

What are the 10 knowledge areas?

The 10 areas of knowledge. 1: Project integration management

  • Project integration.
  • Project scope management.
  • Project time management.
  • Project cost management.
  • Project quality management.
  • Project Human Resource Management.
  • Project Communication Management.
  • Project Risk Management.

What are the four core knowledge areas?

The four core knowledge areas of project management include project scope, time, cost, and quality management. These are core knowledge areas because they lead to specific project objectives.

What are the 7 steps of the strategic management process?

Seven steps of a strategic planning process

  • Understand the need for a strategic plan.
  • Set goals.
  • Develop assumptions or premises.
  • Research different ways to achieve objectives.
  • Choose your plan of action.
  • Develop a supporting plan.
  • Implement the strategic plan.

What are the 7 principles of management?

The seven principles of quality management are:

  • Engagement of people.
  • Customer focus.
  • Leadership.
  • Process approach.
  • Improvement.
  • Evidence-based decision making.
  • Relationship management.

What are the processes in the PMP knowledge area?

This PMP knowledge area has four processes. These are planning cost management, estimating costs, determining the budget and controlling costs. Cost management processes aim to complete the project under a planned budget. This PMBOK knowledge area has three processes.

Are there process groups in the PMBOK knowledge area?

Each of the PMBOK knowledge areas has several processes and these processes belong to one of the process groups. Briefly, we can say that there is a strong matrix structure which includes process groups, and project management knowledge areas.

What are the process groups in project management?

In project life cycle there are five process groups: The initiating process group, the planning process group, the executing process group, the monitoring & controlling process group and lastly the project closing process group. All project management processes belong to these process groups.

How does PMI want project managers to develop project charter?

The ITTO chart above summarizes how PMI wants project managers to develop project charter in just a few words. If the ITTO chart is confusing, try writing it out in layman’s terms as we have done for the Develop Project Charter process above. Note that you do not need to use all of the ITTOs from the chart in order to complete the process.

Previous post Why do constellations look nothing like their names?
Next post What size is semi quarter horse bars?